The Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) describes the principles, practices and outcomes essential to young children’s learning from birth to five years of age, as well as their transition to school. It’s part of the Australian Government’s National Quality Framework for early childhood education and care.

The framework has a strong emphasis on play-based learning, recognising the importance of communication and language (including early literacy and numeracy) and social and emotional development. There are five learning outcomes defined by the EYLF:

◾Children have a strong sense of identity.
◾Children are connected with and contribute to their world.
◾Children have a strong sense of wellbeing.
◾Children are confident and involved learners.
◾Children are effective communicators.